Skip to:

Past Award Recipients

Harry S. Truman Award

This award is given annually to a male and a female who is not a currently elected Democratic official. Jackson County Democratic Committee members are eligible to receive this Award, however individuals do not need to be a member of the JCDC. The Harry S. Truman Award recognizes a Democrat who is committed to grass roots political efforts and advancing the goals of the Democratic Party. 

Past Award Recipients

2018: Fred and Sandy Hartwell

2017: Ken McClain & Beth Low-Smith

2016: Richard Tush & Virginia "Dee" Evans

2015: Jack Hackley & Annmarie Jackson
14: Curtis Jones & DeAun Young
2013: Steve Bough & Chere Chaney
2012: Keith Thomas & Sarah Starnes
2011: Michael Mauer & Orissa Kelley-Logan
2010: Jim Giokaris & Toni Thornton
2009: Sherwood Smith & Lanna Ultican
2008: Darrell Curls & Janet Lillis
2007: Elmer Taylor, III & Dorothy Kennedy
2006: Chris Hegan & Alta Stephens
2005: Garry Kemp & Mary Weidmaier

2004: Harry Wiggins & Rosemary Lowe
2003: Vince Accurso & Judy Briggs
2002: James B. Nutter, Sr. & Lali Garcia
2001: Bill Baker & Goldie Troutwine
2000: Tom Wyrsch & Cathy Spainhower
1999: Pat Hughes & Nancy Wessley
1998: Alan Wheat & Mary Ellen Miller
1997: Michael Wells & Thelma Hemenway
1996: Bob Hemenway & Doris Quinn
1995: Keith Querry & Les Lucille McReynolds
1994: Luva Vaughn & Vicki Fitzgerald
1993: Woody Overton & Sandra Querry
1992: Harry Springs & Jo Anne Sheil
1991: Matt DeVoe & Gigi Schulz
1990: Ed Drake & Joyce Villines
1989: Frank Hughes & Dutch Newman

Senator Ronnie DePasco Public Service Award Winners

This award is given annually to a past or present elected official in the State of Missouri. The Ronnie DePasco Award recognizes an elected Democratic official who has dedicated their professional career to public service and who reflects the commitment of Senator Ronnie DePasco to working families and Democratic values.

Past Award Recipients

2018: Jackson County Legislator Fred Arbanas

2017: House Minority Leader Gail McCann Beatty

2016: Jackson County Executive Mike Sanders

2015: Senator Mary Groves Bland
2014: Senator Harold Caskey & Senator Ed Quick
2013: Jackson County Legislator Theresa Garza Ruiz
2012: U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill
2011: State Senator Yvonne Wilson
2010: Congressman Emanuel Cleaver II
2009: Jack Cardwell
2008: Hila “Dutch” Newman
2007: Jackson County Legislator Henry Rizzo
2006: Governor Bob Holden
2005: Governor Roger Wilson
2004: Congresswoman Karen McCarthy
2003: Senator Ronnie DePasco

Sybil Daniels Young Democrat of the Year Award 

The Sybil Daniels Outstanding Young Democrat Award recognizes a Democrat under the age of 30 who is committed to grass roots political efforts and advancing the goals of the Democratic Party in Jackson County. The Award is named in recognition of the devotion and hard work of Sybil Daniels.

Past Award Recipients

2018: Andrew Miller

2017: Kate Bergmann

2016: Rachel Gonzales

2015: Claire Cook & Jalen Anderson
2014: Manny Abarca
2013: McClain Bryant
2012: Brian Noland
2011: DaRon McGee
2010: Lauren Gepford

Harry Wiggins Award for Best Democratic Organization

This award does not have to be given annually. The Harry Wiggins Award is given to recognize a Democratic club or organization whose efforts reflect the commitment that Senator Harry Wiggins had for improving the lives of the citizens of Jackson County.

Past Award Recipients

2012: Committee for County Progress
2011: United Eastern Democrats
2010: Westport Landing Democratic Club
2009: Freedom, Inc
2008: KC Pride Democratic Club
2007: Raytown Democratic Association
2006: Democrats 21st Century
2005: Summit Democratic Club