Skip to:

JCDC Elects New Leadership

Welcome New Chairman Paul Wrabec

Jackson County Democrats Elect New Leadership


(Independence, MO) --- The Jackson County Democratic Committee met on Tuesday evening to elect new officers tasked with leading the organization for the next two years.  By acclimation, Paul Wrabec was elected the 46th Chairman of the committee, a position that dates back to 1884.  Mr. Wrabec is a lifelong resident of Sugar Creek and was first elected to the Jackson County Democratic Committee in 1978 serving Blue Township, District 1 covering his hometown and part of Independence. Paul has also served over 20 years as a Democratic State Committeeman.  Chairman Wrabec is a graduate of Rockhurst University and operates several businesses in the greater Kansas City area.


Also re-elected as executives were Virginia “Dee” Evans as Vice Chairwoman.  Ms. Evans received the JCDC’s Harry S Truman Democratic Achievement award earlier this year.  Judy Briggs of Lee’s Summit, also a previous award winner, will remain Secretary of the Board.  John “Coach” Comstock of the Westport area in Kansas City will remain Treasurer, a position he has held for the past several terms.   Longtime committeeman and Truman Achievement award winner Keith Thomas of Kansas City will remain on the executive committee as Parliamentarian.  Newly elected committeeman Jalen Anderson of Blue Springs will become Historian.  Jalen is the youngest member of the committee and just completed a term as a national committeeman for the Young Democrats of America.


The Jackson County Democratic Committee is a 94-person committee composed of committeemen and committeewomen who are elected during the August primary in even years representing the wards and townships that compose Jackson County and Kansas City.  The JCDC is among the oldest and most active Democratic organizations in the State of Missouri.